jump to navigation

Gulf Coast Championships Aug 2-3 PCYC July 25, 2008

Posted by Joe in Gulf Yachting Assn, J22 Sailing, One Design Sailing, Regattas (on the road).
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Pass Christian YC will host the annual GYA J/22 Gulf Coast Championships Aug 2-3. According to the e-mail flying around this should be a great event and very well attended.  I am hearing numbers of 16-17 boats.  The competition is always great there. Always great race committee. Most always breeze and most always current.

Fresh Aire won’t be able to make it this year. One of my really good friends and mentor has a wedding planned for his daughter on AUGUST SECOND AT TWO O’CLOCK!  Actually if I have to go to a wedding, I would rather it not be one of those evening weddings where I just might think I could make it back to Jackson after the last race on Saturday.  First I wouldn’t make it, second my friend would be mad at me for even trying it. So, y’all have fun.

We do have two boats coming down from JYC. Robert Muller is bringing Air Express for the first time down there. He will have crew of Jim O’Daniel and Charlotte Buchanan.  Also reporting for duty is Mart Lamar with crew Edgar Buchanan and crew “TBA”.  Both with be formidable on the coast.  I wish you all great luck.  I would love to have someone send be results at the end of the day to post on this blog!

There better be champagne at this wedding!

Update from the SOTC: July 27

I received a call from Peter Gambel yesterday with an update on the first weekend of the Summer on the Coast event. They had a great time last weekend with great breeze, a couple of “isolated” storms and some heat.  Peter hasn’t been there the past couple of years and remarked “these guys have gotten a lot better or I’ve gotten worse!”  Well I won’t comment, but the level of racing is definitely better than it has been in the past. Of course, it helps having a great venue.  Looks like Chris, Dave and Macho got in gear early and never looked back. Congrats to them, Dwight LeBlanc and crew on their second and Boo Heausler and his crew on the third.  I’ll bet next weekend is going to have some great racing.  Look out Chris the target is on you now!

SOTC #1 Results!

SOTC #1 Pictures: courtesy Boo Heausler

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment